The large crowd that attended Gosnells Oval last Saturday witnessed several excellent games of Australian Rules Football in perfect autumn weather. The Anzac Round of the Perth Football League was dedicated to honour the sacrifices of the original ANZAC’S and to pay respect to our service men and women who have served and continue to serve our nation. The City of Gosnells Mayor Mr Glen Dewhurst and Mr Fred Batt Secretary of the Gosnells RSL were in attendance.

The league team continues to perform well with a 38 point victory over Carlisle. Coach Aaron Ballantyne has his team going beautifully at this early stage of the season. Final scores were Gosnells 15.8 (98) Carlisle 9.6 (60). Drew Robinson won the Barratt/Hansen Anzac Day Medal for the best Gosnells player. Others to play well were Lochlin Luckens, Luke Kendall and Scott Lewis.

The reserves bounce back from a disappointing game last week to record a convincing 82 point victory. Final scores were Gosnells 18.9 (117) Carlisle 5.5 (35). Best for the Hawks were Eathan Strahan, James Kelly and Brayden Watkins.

The thirds were very competitive and a win is not far away. Final scores were Hamersley Carine 11.16 (82) Gosnells 5.7 (37). Best were Tom Stevens, Jack Phillis, Michael Sanderson and Jeremy Hilbers.

The colt’s continue to improve but went down narrowly to Carlisle and the women’s Hawks team struggled against a classy Warnbro Swans. 

All teams will play on Saturday this week with the league, reserves and colt’s travelling to Beasley Park, Leeming to play Bullcreek Leeming. A change in starting times sees the colts start at 9.25 am, reserves at 11.20 am with the league at 1.15 pm. The thirds play Willetton at  1 pm and the women’s team play University at 11 am both games at home.