The three teams that the Gosnells Hawks Football Club qualified for the first week of the WAAFL finals will all compete in the second week of finals. The league and thirds were successful in the elimination finals but the reserves lost the qualifying final but will contest the first semi final on Saturday.

The league game was a brilliant spectacle enjoyed by the large crowd at Gosnells Oval. The Hawks seemed in trouble half way through the last quarter trailing Carlisle by 3 goals but goals to Josh Hall (2) after towering marks, Adam White and Tim Hale saw Gosnells lead by 6 points with only a few minutes on the clock. Carlisle came hard in the closing stages needing to score a goal to send the game into extra time. The ball was deep in their forward line when the siren sounded but the Hawks had done enough to record a victory in a fantastic game of Australian Rules Football. Final scores were Gosnells 12.9 (81) Carlisle 11.9 (75).  Best for the Hawks was Adam White who was brilliant at half back with Robert Davis, Levi Gallagher and Eric Mitchell.

The reserves played below expectation and went down by 14 points to Quinns District. Coach Steve Davis is confident his team can bounce back this week. Final scores were Quinns District 10.8 (68) Gosnells 8.6 (54). Best players for the Hawks were Demayne Brown, Ryan Davies, Michael Sewell and Christian Agostino.

The thirds held on to win a close game where only a few points separated the teams all day. Coach Sam Parker was extremely proud of his players on the way they responded to hold off a determined Ellenbrook challenge and win by 7 points. Final scores were Gosnells 8.7 (55) Ellenbrook 7.6 (48).  Best players for the Hawks were Jade Ginn, Heath Goodhew, Jaxon Millsteed and Lam Le.

Club Stalwart Dean Stauborg will play his 150th club game against Willetton on Saturday.

This Saturday the league and reserves play at Burrendah Reserve, Willetton in the first semi finals.  The league takes on Willetton and the reserves play Bassendean. The thirds play ECU in the second elimination final at John Reid Oval, Forrestfield at 12.35 pm.